Facing Fears!

Recently I have been face to face with death… actually no I haven’t but it has been the talk of many people around me. Many people have passed away from friends loved ones to friends coworkers. These strings of events have left me with a sour taste in my mouth as mourning is an evident part of dying! Even I found myself grieving for those in my family that aren’t even dead yet, I was trying to picture how I would react to such news of a loved one passing away. That is not a place I want to venture in alone.

I realized something though; the one thought that kept repeating over and over in my head was ‘now what?’ ‘What happens now?’ Just about everyone on this earth believes we are going somewhere, many people do believe their loved ones are going to heaven, even if there isn’t a hint of religion in their lives. I personally thought of my dad and how he is advancing in his age, and how he continues to please himself with worldly desires (but that’s another conversation altogether). I pictured myself in various scenarios of what I would do if the day came. Would I feel sadden, or hurt? Would I cry? Would I grief? If so, why would I? (Long history of abuse) But most of all the one thing that kept coming back was “did I do everything in my power to present God to my dad?” “Have I even tried enough” I have always told anyone that I’ve study the bible with that if they choose to get to know God and still walk away, at least they know the decision they’re making. Have I given my dad or my mom, or my sister, or my brother, or my close coworkers that same opportunity? Have I done all that I could to open my mouth for God. Scriptures talk about how God will speak through us, all we have to doing be willing and open our mouths. But am I faithful to put this teaching into practice? I sure hope so, because I want my family to be saved.

Many times I’m reminded of this scripture:

2 timothy1: 7For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline. 8So do not be ashamed to testify about our Lord, or ashamed of me his prisoner. But join with me in suffering for the gospel, by the power of God, 9who has saved us and called us to a holy life—not because of anything we have done but because of his own purpose and grace. This grace was given us in Christ Jesus before the beginning of time, 10but it has now been revealed through the appearing of our Saviour, Christ Jesus, who has destroyed death and has brought life and immortality to light through the gospel.

The nitty gritty of this scripture is to say what we ought, and do as we should. Very impacting, and convicting at the same time. The times I haven’t been all there mentally spiritual or ready to share are times that I’m not willing to listen to the spirit. Life as we know it is very short and in just a few second it can all end. We really don’t know when it’s going to happen or how but we know it will happen sometime. 1Thessalonians5:1-3. There was another small quake in Dominican last night (4.6 on the scale) another one in Turkey yesterday morning, plus the 3 in Chile in the last week, plus the Haiti’s one last month. Are these the signs of Jesus’ return? I don’t know and I won’t even try to attempt to say they are. It’s obvious the world is changing, everything from the changing climate to the shifting earth’s core. As the world changes are we changing with it? I mean, are we making every effort to reach out to those, dare I say, who matter most to us? Our own kin, flesh and blood!

Thank you for reading!!!

Roberto

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Share your opinion

