Those who make things happen, those who wait for things to happen, and those who do nothing

Those who make things happen, those who wait for things to happen, and those who do nothing.

By Roberto Padron

 

  • Welcome the church, and day pleasantries (beautiful day, introduce myself,

    talk about week?, etc.)

     

Thank Luckron for doing an amazing job last Sunday on how he was able to modernize the biblical centurion that Paul talks about in Ephesians 6. What I liked about what he said, was how we need to be ready to do everything we know to stand our ground & all that we have learnt and have gone through in our training, which never ends, to put into practice at the opportune time. So thank you Luckron for giving us such a great contrast.

One thing that really stood out to me was the spiritual battle. This is one subject I’ve been studding out lately because it’s something that has helped me to build back my relationship with God. Everything we do is in direct unity with our spiritual battle. And as the scripture goes in Ephesians 6 12For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Our fight is not for us to directly challenge Satan and his minions, rather is to stay faithful in God, his love and his promise by being grounded and obedient to the scriptures.

 

I’m going to break the title of this lesson a little bit and try and make sense of what I’m trying to say. Hopefully you can follow along with me.

 

Let us start with it seems to be the most controversial one of them all.

 

Those who do nothing:

Please don’t get me wrong, I don’t think you’re lazy, and please keep in mind that this is not meant to hurt any of you in any way. I’m just trying to give light to things that can creep on in our lives, and when we aren’t ready to face these things head on we can find ourselves in deep waters spiritually speaking.

 

Complacency, comfort ability, not having spiritual people in live, fear, schedules, and not loving God with all…

 

One example of what I’m talking about is complacency: we get into our daily routines, we wake up, go work, come home have supper, go to church on Sunday, and every day that goes by is the same. It’s a cycle we have made because it feels good and it doesn’t require much from us. Now, please note I’m not saying you’re not faithful, or by any means doing anything wrong, but what I’m saying is that this cycle can become your entire daily walk with God. Things like this happens because of a few elements like being comfortable, like not having strong spiritual people in your life that can challenge you or know you good enough to challenge you. Sometimes we can be fearful of rejection and disposition. What will people at work think about me if I tell them what I really stand for?
Your coworkers might know you’re a Christian, but do they know what you truly believe; do they know your stance on what life should be according to the scriptures?

How about your schedules? I know this can be a though one on parents? School, camp, swimming, taekwondo, soccer, the list goes on.

And last but not least, not loving God with all your heart. Yes I know I said, but is not coincidence why God tells Moses in Deutoronomy 6: 5 love your God with all your heart, your soul and all your strength, and again Jesus reminds us in that is the greatest commandment of all. (ref: Matthew 22:37)

Have you ever been in any of situations? I know I have.

(Mouse in a trap)

Part 2: Those who wait for things to happen?

This part is pretty much the same as last one, but in this case we are the scripture that comes to mind is Romans 7
specially the part that says 21So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me. 22For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; 23but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members. 24What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? 25Thanks be to God—through Jesus Christ our Lord!

 

A lot of the times we tend to pass blame to what goes on around us. Only if, is an excuse we use a lot. Only if the day had more hours. Only if I wasn’t so tired. Only if, only if. This is a mindset we need to kick to the curb. We need to stop saying For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out(Romans 7), instead we need to say we can do anything through him who gives us strength. (ref: Philippians 4:13)

 

We need to make every effort to not let our sin to trap us, and start doing everything we know to break free. Amen church?

 

 

Please turn to Mark 4

 

 1Again Jesus began to teach by the lake. The crowd that gathered around him was so large that he got into a boat and sat in it out on the lake, while all the people were along the shore at the water’s edge. 2He taught them many things by parables, and in his teaching said: 3“Listen! A farmer went out to sow his seed. 4As he was scattering the seed, some fell along the path, and the birds came and ate it up. 5Some fell on rocky places, where it did not have much soil. It sprang up quickly, because the soil was shallow. 6But when the sun came up, the plants were scorched, and they withered because they had no root. 7Other seed fell among thorns, which grew up and choked the plants, so that they did not bear grain. 8Still other seed fell on good soil. It came up, grew and produced a crop, multiplying thirty, sixty, or even a hundred times.”

 

You know what I like about this scripture? I like that it doesn’t matter how old in the faith you are it will always applies to your walk with God. In essence, we could dissect this scripture to the different stages of your Christianity, in fact the older a disciple you are the more relevant this scripture will be. Next week 8 years ago I became a disciple. And I remember being eager and full of zeal wanting to conquer the world. I was going to take the world by storm and make something out of it.

When Jesus explains this scripture later on in the passage he says, that some are like seed sown in the shallow they accept the message but Satan comes and takes away the word. (Ref: Matthew 4 to Jesus and Satan)
Satan doesn’t care who you are, he will try to take away from you everything that has to do with God. Where do you see yourself today?
And be honest with yourself. In which one of these places do you see yourself today?
Just remember there isn’t right or wrong answers here. This is about examining ourselves and taking a good honest look at where we’re at in our walk with God.

 

2 Cor 13:5

5Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you—unless, of course, you fail the test?

How do you test yourself? I believe the easiest way to answer this is to look at the scriptures. Are we following what God commands us to do, are we making every effort to:

  • Luke 13:24
    He said to them, “Make
    every
    effort to enter through the narrow door
  • Ephesian 4:3
    Make
    every
    effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.
  • Hebrews 12:14

    Make
    every
    effort to live in peace with all men and to be holy

  • 2 Peter 1:5-7   5For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; 6and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; 7and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love.

If you are studying the bible right now I encourage you to get deep in the bible. All you need to know about God is within the word…

Church, today I want to encourage you to keep on shinning! I hope to encourage you to continue to do your part in advancing the gospel. I want to encourage you to make every effort to not let your let yourselves be trapped by your own prison of deceit. I want to encourage you to keep sharing your faith, and baptising souls to Jesus.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Share your opinion

