When old is not old enough!

“I feel old” is something I’ve caught my self saying a few times. So, I pondered on why I did. Well, it turns out I have lived a long life in a very short time. I’m nearing the age of 32 and I have 4 children the oldest one being 10. Raising children is not an easy task and they demand a lot from you. Having kids make you see the world under a difference light, with a different perspective and forces you to make changes in your character. But this is not a parenting blog nor one about children.

Few things I’ve identified as to why I feel old:

  1. Career: I feel I should be way ahead on my career making money in the hundred of thousands. I have a very diverse background, but being a career Chef for about 10 years and being involved with the hospitality industry can were you down a lot. This is an unforgiving career that demands just about 25 out of 24 hours of the day. Really! it does, and balancing a family home life with a thriving career is something I never came close to mastering.
  2. Financially: with so much experience at what I did for a very long time I should be ahead in my savings. Truth is that’s not the case. Albeit, I’ve made some really bad choices in life that left me hanging, but managing a gigantic small family is tough. Diapers, Formula, clothes, shoes, school, extra curricular activities, and did I mention my wife and I have to pay the bills too along with a mortgage. This is an area that will always need close attention.
  3. Life Stature: So many times and in so many jobs, wants and needs I believed I deserved more. When wanting more I focused so much energy to where I thought I wanted to be. This really wares someone out. Now that I’m older and wiser I know that this is just chasing after the wind.

Indeed, I can dissect my life in front of your eyes, but I have to say that being in my 30’s has made me see life differently. Life is like making stew, you got it let it stew a while. Got it give it time to for all the flavours to come to release and come together. Old age! has made me wise enough to know I’m not that old.

Leave a comment

Filed under Home

Share your opinion

