Never, ever stuff a turkey

Of course, this isn’t a Cardinal rule of cooking. There is an exception to the post title. If  you plan to stuff a Turkey make sure you have lots of time (about 30 min per LB) I’ll explain more on this later on.

Turkey is the  quintessential meat for just about any North American holiday. and since  we just had Thanksgiving I felt obliged to share. Indeed it’s totally by choice I choose not to stuff a turkey and here are the reasons why:

1) Time:  as I mentioned earlier stuffing your delicious bird will add an incremental amount of time to the cooking procedure of your turkey. I can honestly say that it only takes me 2:30 hours MAX to cook a 15-20 pound turkey that isn’t stuffed. By not stuffing a turkey I cut my cooking time by 1/4 of the amount I should cook it for. Applied Math: half hour for every LB of stuffed turkey will result in 7-9 hour ordeal for an average size turkey.

2) Temperature: I achieve this feat of 2:30 hours of cooking time by pre-heating my oven @ 425 F once hot I place th bird for about 15 minutes to get the outside crispy and ready for browning. Then I cut the heat to 375 F for about 1 hour, this will still induce a great amount of heat to the meat while still low enough that wont burn skin. Finally, I reduce the heat once again 2 350 F for the reminder of the time (about 1:15). Reducing the temperature gradually will allow the meat to breathe and allow the skin fat to render slowly.

3) Season: seasoning your bird is so crucial, because without it will result in a very, very bland piece of meat. My choice season for roasted turkey is: Ground sage, ground cumin, ground paprika, salt, pepper, crushed garlic, crushed ginger and olive oil. I mix these ingredients together and rub it all over the turkey including the cavity.  This is my secret!!!

4) Stuffing:  this part of the meal still has great importance. I usually mix stuffing and bake in the oven either in a covered casserole dish or I make a roll with cling wrap and foil. It will be cooked during the last half hour of the turkey cooking time this way we can still have turkey and stuffing at the same time.

Stuffed turkey is a delicious delicacy since it’s a 2 or 3 time a year eating feast and it’s a dish many of us look forward to eating while we spend time with family and friends. But my question is: why spend so much time babysitting a bird when you can enjoy the extra time sipping on wine and telling stories.

Happy Thanksgiving

Image: Tom Curtis / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

2 Comments

Filed under All About Food, Hobby

2 responses to “Never, ever stuff a turkey

  1. TAZE

    Well lets do this! TAZE!!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Stress – Less Holiday Feast, Anyone? « Neos Creations

Share your opinion

