Today I Make: Habichuela con Dulce (Bean Sweet)

Ok, I didn’t make nor it was done today.

You see, I’m Dominican and for (Holy week) Easter Dominicans make bean sweet. It’s quite  a process and it takes time to make but it’s one of those things you just got to have if you’re Dominican. My mom jut came back from a month hiatus in the D.R. and she’s been bringing back all sorts of stories. Well, she just made me a pot of habichuela con dulce. And it’s so yummy. I wish Taste-o-Vision was real!

 

This tradition goes back as long as my elders can remember. As far as I know this dish is native to Dominican Republic (correction welcome). I haven’t seen this awesome dessert made on  any other latin american country. This dish is most likely derived from our Afro-European roots, mixed from years and years of old world influence.

 

Share with me your cultural background food traditions! 

Reply by leaving a comment.

4 Comments

Filed under All About Food, Home, Today I Make

4 responses to “Today I Make: Habichuela con Dulce (Bean Sweet)

  1. Pingback: Caribbean Eats! Habichuelas Con Dulce – Dominican Republic (espanol) | Caribbean Eats!

  2. Pingback: Caribbean Eats! Habichuelas Guisadas (Stewed Bean) – Dominican Republic | Caribbean Eats!

  3. take out pizza?!?!? I guess it all depends where you get it from.

    Like

  4. Anonymous

    My cultural food is take-out pizza. That’s why I’m following you 🙂

    Like

Share your opinion

